Alberta Lawyers' Assistance Society

About Us

Indigenous Land Acknowledgement

In the spirit of respect and understanding, the Alberta Lawyers’ Assistance Society acknowledges that what we call Alberta is the traditional and ancestral territory of many peoples, now known to us as Treaties 6, 7, and 8 Territories.

Our offices are situated in the traditional territories of the Treaty 7 Nations in Southern Alberta, and the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3.

We would like to acknowledge the Blackfoot Confederacy – Kainai, Piikani, and Siksika – the Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Nakota Sioux, Stoney Nakoda, and the Tsuu T’ina Nation and the Métis People of Alberta. This includes the Métis Settlements and the Six Regions of the Métis Nation of Alberta within the historical Northwest Metis Homeland. We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit, who have lived in and cared for these lands for generations. We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We acknowledge that as participants now gathered here, we have an ongoing duty to protect and honour all life.

Kainai is pronounced “Kigh-nigh
Piikani is prouncounced “Pe-kan-ee
Siksika is pronounced “Sik-sik-ah
Tsuu T’ina is pronounced “Soo-teena
Dene is pronounced “Den-nay
Sauteaux is pronounced “So-toh
Nakota Sioux is pronounced “Na-ko-ta Soo